First Post

So this is my first attempt at blogging. I am not really sure how seriously other academics in the humanities take blogging, but I wanted to do something that would allow me to publish aspects of my thinking in draft form. I won’t pretend that this might be interesting to anyone other than me. Yet, here I am.

This is really an experiment, or a kind of thinking in public exercise. My students tell me all of the time how opinionated I am, so I thought I might share some of those opinions. Since I’m interested in everything I also thought that this would be the ideal forum for me to try out some ideas that might (or might not) make it into more conventional (read scholarly) venues.

So, here I am, another opinionated academic in a world that really doesn’t need any more opinions or academics. All I can say is, “Reader beware.”

3 thoughts on “First Post

  1. I anticipate great book reviews and all kinds of literary opinions and comments from you, Andrew! Last night I started Bolano’s A Night in Chile. I’m good with it so far – we’ll see!

Leave a Reply

